Absolutely Erotic Blog Hop: Karenna Colcroft

Karenna is a prolific author, with a career stretching all the way back to 2006. She writes in a number of genres, but she’s best know for her Real Werewolves Don’t Eat Meat series.

Salad-Sm The series is now complete, which is always nice if you’re just discovering it, and I’ve linked to its page up above. The six related novels, starting with Salad on the Side, follow the adventures of an alpha werewolf, his vegan werewolf lover, and his pack.


The_Pink_It_Burns_200She also writes contemporary MM, including The Pink, It Burns (have I mentioned how much I love her titles?). In this one, a quick stop at a coffee shop foils a child abduction and leads to afternoon romance.



I-Should-Tell-You_200Her penchant for introducing broken characters and redeeming them is well in evidence in her book I Should Tell You, in which a drag queen and a musician help heal each other’s old wounds.



HoochandHowls_200Another werewolf romance, Hooch and Howls introduces a reclusive werewolf and a couple of runrunners. What’s better than hot shapeshifters and booze? Coming from a runrunning area myself, I say nothing!



I also managed to tie her down for a few minutes and pry an interview out of her, and some info on her upcoming novel, Love Like Vampires, coming soon from Dreamspinner Press.

LoveLikeVampires200All Thaniel Robichaud has ever wanted is for his band to hit the big-time. All Shane McCarthy has ever wanted is Thaniel.

Friends since childhood, Thaniel and Shane started making music together while still in junior high school. In the ten years since, they’ve taken their band, Love Like Vampires, from struggling over chords in Thaniel’s basement to headlining at clubs, and recently they opened for one of rock’s biggest names. Along the way, Shane stunned Thaniel with a proclamation of love, and when Thaniel returned his feelings, their relationship gave them the strength to weather the rough patches. But with the band about to break apart, it may not be enough to hold everything together. Their dream is slipping through their fingers just as they’re perched on the cusp of success.

Which of your main characters is your favorite and why?
You know this is like asking a mom to choose which baby she likes best, right? If I have to pick one, I would say Kyle Slidell from my Real Werewolves Don’t Eat Meat series. He’s a complete wiseass, and was a lot of fun to write.

Why do you like writing this pairing as opposed to other pairings?
I don’t only write one pairing. I write male/male; male/female; and menages with a variety of combinations. I believe love is love and sex is sex, and as long as everyone’s a consenting adult it’s all good.

As a writer, do you prefer the aspects of paranormal, and its freedom to create, or do you prefer keeping it within bounds of the every day lives of contemporary characters?
I’ve written both, and I would have to say I prefer contemporary at this point. Paranormal is fun, and I get to play god a little bit, but there’s a lot more world-building involved.

Is there anything that makes you nervous about readers?
Wondering whether they’ll actually read and like my books. Every single time, I wonder about that.

What is the sexiest feature, to you, on a person?
Assuming you mean physical feature, I would say eyes; but honestly, I find intelligence and a sense of humor sexier than anything physical.

How do you feel about fetishes?
To each their own; as I said above, as long as it’s between/among consenting adults, it’s all good. I don’t necessarily understand the mindset behind fetishes, so I wouldn’t be likely to write about them.

Bio:
Karenna Colcroft is the alter ego of a shy, sedate wife and mother who began writing erotic romance on a challenge from a friend. She believes that love is love, regardless of gender or number. As a survivor herself, Karenna often writes about trauma survivors learning to heal from their pasts and find love in spite of what has happened. She lives in the northeastern United States with her husband, two daughters, and three cats.

I’m going to stop there, long before I’ve gotten to the rest of her extensive backlist, because I could just go on forever. Go visit her website and have a look around, or like her Facebook page, https://www.facebook.com/karennacolcroftauthor. She’s also written for a number of anthologies, and not only does she write MM, she also writes MF, so there’s something there for everyone.

6 responses to “Absolutely Erotic Blog Hop: Karenna Colcroft

  1. Pingback: 2014 AbsoluteWrite Erotica Writers blog hop Day 8 | Blue night. Black iron. Golden rope.

  2. “love is love and sex is sex, and as long as everyone’s a consenting adult it’s all good”
    Couldn’t put it better myself! 🙂

  3. Pingback: 2014 AbsoluteWrite Erotica Writers Blog Hop 6-23 to 7-7 | Blue night. Black iron. Golden rope.

  4. Pingback: Blog Hop Interviews | Evelyn Aster

  5. Sounds like a fun book. Thank you for the interview.

Leave a comment